Due to COVID-19, Civicorps has moved to Distance Learning.

Although we cannot replace the value of instruction at school with teachers, we want to ensure that students have the resources they need to continue learning and studying at home.  Civicorps is committed to equipping our scholars with the tools and resources they need to continue working towards their diplomas.

Distance Learning Info

Grades and Portfolio Credit

Classes will not be graded but will be marked as Pass/Incomplete based on engagement, productivity, and academic progress.  Receiving “Pass” is most important with math classes as this allows you to move forward.  Receiving “Incomplete” will require you to redo the class if it is needed for promotion to the next class in the sequence (again, most critical for math).  All work that is completed and meets rubric standards will count toward portfolio requirements.  Teachers will track completion of portfolio work in CorpsNET and you will be able to view your progress toward graduation within your CorpsNET Portal.

Attendance, Engagement and Academic Stipend
  • While attendance is not required to be taken we will be tracking how frequently students connect with staff and counselors.
  • Engagement and completion of portfolio requirements are strongly encouraged so that all students continue working toward their graduation goal.  Teachers will articulate how engagement credit is earned.
  • Academic Stipends will be tied directly to weekly engagement for each class you are assigned (ie: receiving “engagement” credit for a class = $25 per class; if you met the engagement requirement in 4 classes = $100 for the week).  Reach out to Bethany with questions about the Stipend.
Meals and Food

Grab-and-Go lunches will be available daily for all working in Recycling and at the JTC.  A pop-up grocery for all Corpsmembers, with produce and dry goods available, will be held at 5th Street every Thursday from 11:30-3:00.

English Language Development

The ELL Teacher will continue to work one-on-one with early English learners through live Zoom sessions. All ELD students will be supported in mainstream classes by the teacher of record and in partnership with the ELL Teacher.

Case Counseling Services

Support Services staff are available to help just as if you were on site so please reach out. Case Counselors will be reaching out at least weekly to all students to check-in and ensure basic needs are being met (ie: food, shelter, health/hygiene, phone service, etc).  Should a student have questions or concerns they should absolutely reach out to staff.

Graduation

Civicorps will hold a June 2020 Graduation. What this will look like is still being determined. All students currently identified as “potential June Grads” should continue working to complete their portfolio. Requirements that are unable to be met in the traditional manner due to the Shelter-in-Place mandate will be adjusted as we receive guidance from the County Office of Education and the State Department of Education. Some of these requirements include: CPR/1st Aid Certification and the NWEA.  Other identified requirements will be modified to be met via virtual/online platforms (ie: interview skills, democratic participation, conflict resolution).

Students with IEP/504

The Resource Team will continue to support all scholars on their caseload through a variety of mechanisms which align with Individual Education Plans.  The Intervention Specialist and Instructional Aide will support in live Zoom sessions and through one-on-one phone calls, emails, and via text messaging.  The Resource Specialist will be in contact with students to clarify support systems in place during distance learning and to identify outstanding needs. To review Civicorps’ Special Education framework, please click here.

Technology

Civicorps is working quickly to address the tech needs of all students.  Priority is currently being placed on those with expectations of graduating this June 2020.  As loaner chromebooks become available we will reach out with a plan for distribution.

Course Plans for Term 6: May 4 – June 10, 2020

Click here to view each teacher’s Term 6 Course Plan

Please review the Online Class Guidelines

Important Contacts

Civicorps will be sending out important updates via email and text messaging while school is in this distance learning mode. If you have any questions or concerns about school closure or your health and safety during this time, please contact a Civicorps staff member and we will do our best to help you.

 

Support Services Staff
Lead Counselor Natasha Vinakor natasha.vinakor@cvcorps.org 510-325-5273
Case Counselor Aaron Smith aaron.smith@cvcorps.org 510-772-8681
Outreach & Retention Specialist Bethany Rivard bethany.rivard@cvcorps.org 510-915-5459
Career Counselor Eli Fujita eli.fujita@cvcorps.org 510-759-9796
Dean of Students Mr. Dunn rodney.dunn@cvorps.org 510-277-6210
Support Services Manager JAB joseph.billingsley@cvcorps.org 510-377-1924
Teaching Staff
English & Research Teacher Katy Avila katy.avila@cvcorps.org  
English Teacher Joseph Bradshaw joseph.bradshaw@cvcorps.org  
Math Teacher Michelle Cascio michelle.cascio@cvcorps.org  
Social Studies & Lead Teacher Avery Moore avery.moore@cvcorps.org  
Science Teacher Josette Neal-de-Stanton josette.neal-de-stanton@cvcorps.org  
ELL Teacher Annette PonTell annette.pontell@cvcorps.org  
Resource Team
Resource Specialist Lauren Hoernig lauren.hoernig@cvcorps.org  
Intervention Specialist Rachel Milner rachel.milner@cvcorps.org  
Instructional Aide Matt Walker matt.walker@cvcorps.org  
Administration
Interim Head of School Yvette Arroyo-Agredano yvette.arroyo-agredano@cvcorps.org 510-508-9198
Compliance Specialist Jesus Diaz jesus.diaz@cvcorps.org