Things You Should Know

Crisis Support

Attendance, Engagement and Academic Stipend

  • Attendance is required in live remote classes and check-ins with teachers.
  • Academic Stipends will be tied directly to weekly engagement for each class you are assigned (ie: receiving “engagement” credit for a class = $25 per class; if you met the engagement requirement in 4 classes = $100 for the week).  Reach out to Bethany with questions about the Stipend.

Meals and Food

Grab-and-Go lunches will be available daily for all working in Recycling and at the JTC.  A pop-up grocery for all Corpsmembers, with produce and dry goods available, will be held at 5th Street every other Thursday from 11:30-3:00.

Case Counseling Services

It’s a scary and uncertain time, and Support Services staff are available to help just as if you were on site. Case Counselors will be reaching out at least weekly to all students to check-in and ensure basic needs are being met (ie: food, shelter, health/hygiene, mental wellness, phone service, etc).  Should a student have questions or concerns, they should reach out JAB, Senior Support Services Manager, at jab@cvcorps.org.

Students with IEP/504

The Resource Team will continue to support all scholars on their caseload through a variety of mechanisms which align with Individual Education Plans.  The Intervention Specialist and Instructional Aide will support via live Zoom sessions and through one-on-one phone calls, emails, and via text messaging.  The Resource Specialist will be in contact with students to clarify support systems in place during distance learning and to identify outstanding needs. To review Civicorps’ Special Education framework, please click here.

Technology

Civicorps is committed to addressing the tech needs of all students.  If you need a Chromebook, let us know and we will obtain one for you as soon as possible.

What resources do you have for English language learners?

Civicorps is dedicated to serving students whose primary language is not English by offering a concurrent program to appropriately meet the needs of the English Language Learner.  English Language Learners will be identified and given support during the enrollment process and transitioned into the Academy according to an individualized plan.

Your Class Schedule and Course Plans

Click here to view the class schedule, and here to view Course Plans and Details.

Please review the Online Class Guidelines

Important Forms

All Term 3 classes and counseling sessions will be held remotely.  If you’ve been invited to come to Myrtle Street for a one-on-one meeting, you will need to fill out this Health Screening Questionnaire and Return to School Agreement.  Both documents will be available for your signature onsite.

Important Contacts

Civicorps will be sending out important updates via email and text messaging while school is in this distance learning mode. If you have any questions or concerns about school closure or your health and safety during this time, please contact a Civicorps staff member and we will do our best to help you.

Support Services Staff
Lead Counselor Natasha Vinakor natasha.vinakor@cvcorps.org 510-325-5273
Case Counselor Aaron Smith aaron.smith@cvcorps.org 510-772-8681
Outreach & Retention Specialist Bethany Rivard bethany.rivard@cvcorps.org 510-915-5459
Career Counselor Eli Fujita eli.fujita@cvcorps.org 510-759-9796
Dean of Students Mr. Dunn rodney.dunn@cvcorps.org 510-277-6210
Senior Support Services Manager JAB joseph.billingsley@cvcorps.org 510-377-1924
Teaching Staff
English Teacher Joseph Bradshaw joseph.bradshaw@cvcorps.org
Math Teacher Michelle Cascio michelle.cascio@cvcorps.org
English Teacher Avery Moore avery.moore@cvcorps.org
ELL Teacher Annette PonTell annette.pontell@cvcorps.org
Resource Team
Resource Specialist Lauren Hoernig lauren.hoernig@cvcorps.org
Intervention Specialist Rachel Milner rachel.milner@cvcorps.org
Instructional Aide Matt Walker matt.walker@cvcorps.org
Administration
Interim Head of School Yvette Arroyo-Agredano yvette.arroyo-agredano@cvcorps.org 510-508-9198
Compliance Coordinator Brandy Burke brandy.burke@cvcorps.org